County of San Diego

ASSESSOR | RECORDER | COUNTY CLERK

Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr.

Process Server


Process Servers are those who make more than ten services of process within California during one calendar year for specific compensation or in expectation of specific compensation.

Professional Registrations are only accepted in person at our San Diego Main Office and San Marcos Office from 8am to 3pm, Monday through Friday. Appointments are encouraged, but not required.


To register as a Process Server in San Diego County, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Appear in person with a valid government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license, state identification card, or passport.

  • Reside in California for one year immediately preceding the date of the filing.

  • Principal place of business or residential address must be located in San Diego County.

  • Complete the Process Server – Individual registration form.

  • If you have previously been convicted of a felony, attach a certified copy of the Certificate of Rehabilitation, Expungement, or Pardon to the registration form.

  • Submit fingerprints to the Department of Justice via Live-Scan provider. Complete the Live Scan Service Request form and print three copies. If you are renewing your registration before the expiration date, the Live Scan is not necessary.

  • Submit a bond in the amount of $2,000, bound to the County of San Diego. The bond must have original signatures, original acknowledgement, show the beginning and ending dates or show the term of the bond is two years.

  • Provide two 1 in. X 1 in. photos (headshot only) for the identification cards. Our office can provide photos for a fee. No passport photos.

To register as a Process Server in San Diego County, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Appear in person with a valid government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license, state identification card, or passport.

  • Principal place of business or residential address must be located in San Diego County.

  • Complete the Process Server – Corporation registration form.

  • The corporation or partnership must have been organized and existed continuously for a period of one year immediately preceding the date of filing.

  • All corporate officers and general partners must be listed, with at least two officers/partners signing the registration form.

  • Corporate officers or general partners must sign under penalty of perjury that they have not been convicted of a felony.

  • Corporate officers or general partners who make more than ten serves per year must also file as an individual with their own bond.

  • All officers and partners listed must submit fingerprints to the Department of Justice via Live Scan. Complete the Live Scan Service Request form and print three copies. If you are renewing the registration before the expiration date, the Live Scan is not necessary.

  • Identification cards issued to corporations or partnerships will not contain a photo. Employee cards will not be issued.

  • If have previously been convicted of a felony, attach a certified copy of the Certificate of Rehabilitation, Expungement, or Pardon, to the registration form.

  • Submit a bond in the amount of $2,000, bound to the County of San Diego. The bond must have original signatures, original acknowledgement, show the beginning and ending dates or show the term of the bond is two years.

Appointments are encouraged for this service, but not required. 

Schedule up to 1 week in advance. 

Select Recorder-Clerk, then Professional Registration

Fees:

  • $100 Registration fee
  • $15 Filing fee
  • $14 Recording fee for the first page and $3 each additional page
  • $14 Permanent Identification Card
    • No fee for Temporary Identification Card
  • $5 Identification Photos – Two 1 in. X 1 in.

The fee is payable by cash, check or money order, or credit/debit card.

An additional $2.50 surcharge is applicable for card payments.

Check or money order payable to: San Diego Recorder/County Clerk.

Appointments are encouraged, but not necessary.

Important: Professional Registrations are done in person only at our San Diego Main Office and San Marcos Office from 8am to 3pm, Monday through Friday.